Trusts in Newton, MA

A will alone may not be enough to achieve your estate planning goals. Trusts are more flexible and offer protections that a will cannot.

For many, the most important strengths of a trust are wealth preservation and estate tax minimization. Particularly with larger estates, taxes can take a substantial toll on the amount to be passed on. It is something that can and should be planned for.

Trusts are also commonly used for the purpose of avoiding probate. They allow the trustee to maintain control over assets without court intervention. Additionally, they provide protections during the owner's lifetime, not just in death.

An experienced lawyer like Robert Weinstein, Attorney at Law in Newton, MA knows that trusts can be employed to do much more than avoid probate and estate tax. Trusts can be created to do anything from ensuring that inheritance is passed on to a child with special needs in a manner that does not negatively impact eligibility for government benefits, to looking out for the needs of a beloved pet.

Some of the types of trusts that I can include in an estate planning strategy include:

  • Revocable living trusts (revocable trusts, living trusts)
  • Irrevocable trusts
  • Special needs trusts
  • Spendthrift trusts
  • Life insurance trusts
  • Charitable remainder trusts
  • Family trusts
  • Pet trusts

I will only recommend a trust as part of your estate plan after reviewing your entire situation and if I can confidently recommend it based on your family's needs, your assets and your many goals. Contact the Law Office of Robert Weinstein online for a free consultation with a Newton, Massachusetts trusts attorney or call 617-431-8424.


Newton, Massachusetts Estate Planning Attorney Robert Weinstein at the Law Office of Robert Weinstein assists clients with Estate Planning, Wills and Trusts, Probate, Trust & Estate Administration, MassHealth, Long-Term Care, Elder Law, Conservatorships, and Special Needs Planning in Newton, Massachusetts and throughout Middlesex, Norfolk and Essex Counties, including Newton, Brookline, Cambridge, Needham, Dedham, Westwood, Weston, Waltham, Watertown, Lexington, Arlington, Belmont, Concord, Woburn, Stoneham, Tewksbury, Salem and surrounding communities.